Orlando based rockers, Wake Up Hate, have released their debut EP, Deep Sleep, consisting of seven solid tunes that will keep your interest for all 26 minutes.  These three guys are impressive considering they only recently formed the band within the last year.  The band consists of Jake Adkins on lead vocals, Matt Browning-guitars and Triston Blaize – drums.  

The first single, “The Cycle” gets us right into the hard rocking mood with a catchy tune that has a little bit of a Motionless in White (MIW) feel at times. In fact, if you like bands like MIW, Bring Me the Horizon, Linkin Park and Breaking Benjamin then Wake Up Hate is definitely the band for you.  They stand on their own, but they will get you amped up with emotion and powerful sing alongs like the aforementioned bands did.

“A New Way to Hate” and “Over the Edge” both have lyrics that brings the listener right into the edge of head banging mania.  With powerful riffs, dominant bass lines, and catchy synth; this threesome keeps the listener’s curiosity. Can these guys keep up the intensity?  A resounding YES is the answer! The next two tunes, “Deep Sleep” and “Love Me Like a Hurricane” have supporting videos that illustrate the core sentiments of each new song.

The final two songs, “Not Worth Saving” and “Blind Apologies” round out this radio friendly debut EP.  Many people are saying Wake Up Hate is the band to watch in 2019. Deep Sleep has been in heavy rotation since my first listen, I highly recommend that you give this up and coming band a chance to impress you.  So far, no live dates have been announced. I can guarantee that there are many who are thirsting to experience these guys from Florida in person.

No Comments

Post A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.